A Broken Blade

By Melissa Blair (Author)

Series The Halfling Saga

Price$17.99

Pub Date 8/2/2022

ISBN 9781454947875

Format Paperback

BUY NOW >

More Formats and Editions
OVERVIEW
The BookTok sensation from debut author Melissa Blair—now with exclusive bonus content!
 
"Gripping and fierce. This is much-needed fantasy with its fangs honed sharp by the power of resistance. Melissa Blair has built a tremendous world."—Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
 
My body is made of scars,
some were done to me,
but most I did to myself.

 
Keera is a killer. As the King's Blade, she is the most talented spy in the kingdom. And the king’s favored assassin. When a mysterious figure moves against the Crown, Keera is called upon to hunt down the so-called Shadow. She tracks her target into the magical lands of the Fae, but Faeland is not what it seems . . . and neither is the Shadow. Keera is shocked by what she learns, and can't help but wonder who her enemy truly is: the King that destroyed her people or the Shadow that threatens the peace?
 
As she searches for answers, Keera is haunted by a promise she made long ago, one that will test her in every way. To keep her word, Keera must not only save herself, but an entire kingdom.
 
Fans of fast-paced high fantasy such as A Court of Thorns and Roses series, The Inadequate Heir, and From Blood and Ash author Jennifer L. Armentrout, will enjoy the fierce female characters, sapphic representation, and fantasy romance of A Broken Blade.
PRAISE
"Gripping and fierce. This is much-needed fantasy with its fangs honed sharp by the power of resistance. Melissa Blair has built a tremendous world."
—Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

“Blair creates a rich fantasy world full of magic, romance, danger, and intrigue.“ — Booklist, Starred Review

“A fast-paced fantasy with strong female characters.” —Daily Mom

“Assassins are a staple, and Anishinnabe-kwe writer Melissa Blair use[s] that character trope to challenge some of the traditional notions of colonialist narratives.” —Paste Magazine

“A dark and romantic fantasy.” —INSIDER 

“Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass.” —BUZZFEED

“Readers who enjoy a messy main character with a redemption arc and  rich world building will embrace this fantasy debut.” —SOUTH SEATTLE EMERALD

-

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

Melissa Blair (she/her/kwe) is an Anishinaabe-kwe of mixed ancestry living in Turtle Island and the author of A Broken Blade, the first book in The Halfling Saga. She splits her time between Treaty 9 in Northern Ontario and the unceded territory of the Algonquin Anishinabeg in Ottawa, Canada. She has a graduate degree in Applied Linguistics and Discourse Studies, loves movies, and hates spoons. Melissa has a BookTok account (@melissas.bookshelf on TikTok) where she discusses and reviews her favorite books, including Indigenous and queer fiction, sapphic books, LGBTQ+ romance, feminist literature, and non-fiction.

Title Details

Pages 448 pages

Trim 6 x 9 x 0 Inches

Territories World

Category Fiction