DIY

The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation

By Eric Sprankle (Author)

Price$17.99

Pub Date 3/19/2024

ISBN 9781454948797

Format Paperback

BUY NOW >

X

DIY

The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation

by Eric Sprankle
More Formats and Editions
OVERVIEW
The first-ever social and scientific history of masturbation, which unapologetically critiques a system that has sought to control the very human desire for self-pleasure.
 
Despite decades of medical and psychological research confirming that masturbation is healthy, the act remains shrouded in taboo and pseudoscience. In DIY, Dr. Eric Sprankle reveals the untold story of crusaders on a long campaign to suppress masturbation and the sex educators fighting back with science. He introduces readers to a colorful cast of characters: doctors advocating for the use of chastity devices, wellness influencers who believe ejaculation depletes the body of vital nutrients, pastors who preach that masturbation creates mermaids, and vibrator aficionados who teach the curious how to come. DIY will challenge what you think you know about the very human need for self-pleasure.
 
Part sex-positive exposé, part fascinating science, DIY spotlights generations of sex education countering anti-masturbation pseudoscience with empowering truths about pleasure. This sex book is perfect for fans of Mary Roach books like Bonk or anyone curious about the history of sex and masturbation.
PRAISE
“I could write a book about masturbation. A lot of people could. But Dr. Eric Sprankle, a clinical psychologist and expert in the subject, actually has. And though it is an epic, it only requires one hand to read it.”
—Larry Charles, director of Borat and writer for Seinfeld
 
“A needed and timely defense of a necessary and timeless activity.”
—Dan Savage, columnist of Savage Love and host of Savage Lovecast
 
“Chock-full of history, science, and Dr. Sprankle’s characteristic humor, this book will inform, educate, and entertain you. Most important, from my vantage point as a sex educator and therapist, it will also put to bed all the historical and current falsehoods about masturbation that have too many people either trying to refrain or doing it with shame. Reading this book will set you free from unnecessary guilt about a natural—and pleasurable—human behavior.”
—Laurie Mintz, PhD, emeritus professor at the University of Florida and author of A Tired Woman’s Guide to Passionate Sex and Becoming Cliterate: Why Orgasm Equality Matters—And How to Get It
 

“Get out the lotion and tissues! Charge your vibrator! Masturbation is THE most frequent sexual behavior in humans. Across their lives, people masturbate far more frequently than they have partnered sex. Dr. Sprankle dives, umm, headfirst, into what we know about erotic self-pleasure, exposing all of the dirty secrets about masturbation that THEY want you to not know about. This is THE book to keep on your nightstand. Seriously.”
—David J. Ley, PhD, sex therapist and author of The Myth of Sex Addiction
 
DIY: The Wonderfully Weird History and Science of Masturbation is equal parts fascinating and fun. Sprankle serves a perfect blend of history, research, and clinical insight that debunks some of the wackiest myths and misconceptions about self-pleasure. Readers will walk away informed and empowered—and able to take their sexuality in their own hands.”
—Justin J. Lehmiller, PhD, host of the Sex and Psychology Podcast and author of Tell Me What You Want -

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

Dr. Eric Sprankle is a professor of psychology at Minnesota State University, Mankato, and is a codirector of the sexuality studies undergraduate program. He’s also a licensed clinical psychologist and an AASECT-certified sex therapist affiliated with the Minnesota Sexual Health Institute in Minneapolis, where he offers continuing education training to therapists on a wide-range of sexuality and sexual health topics. As an educator, researcher, and therapist, Dr. Sprankle has over 10 years of experience, and his research on stigma and sexuality has been presented at dozens of regional, national, and international conferences, and published in numerous academic journals. He is a frequent guest on a number of podcasts, radio shows, and YouTube channels, and he has been interviewed for numerous publications, including Men’s Health, The Daily Beast, Hustler, and Dan Savage’s Savage Love column.

Title Details

Pages 240 pages, b-w illus.

Trim 5.5 x 8.25 x 0 Inches

Territories US/Can

Category Science & Nature

Carton Quantity 45