Union Square Kids

The Fall of the House of Tatterly

By Shanna Miles (Author)

Price$16.99

Pub Date 10/10/2023

ISBN 9781454949305

Format Hardcover, Jacketed

BUY NOW >

X

The Fall of the House of Tatterly

by Shanna Miles
More Formats and Editions
OVERVIEW
A captivating story about a young boy with a unique gift, perfect for fans of The Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste or Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes.
 
Twelve-year-old Theo Tatterly’s ability to see ghosts is a useful skill in a house full of dead relatives, but it makes him a loner at school and everywhere else, where ghosts eternally pester him for help. For Theo, life is easier on the periphery. When his first failed exorcism portends an end to the Tatterly line, Theo must bring together his entire family—living and dead—to save the home they’ve lived in for generations . . . and maybe the world.
 
Author Shanna Miles’s story of magical modern-day Charleston crackles with unforgettable characters and pays homage to the city’s rich culture, folklore, and history. Anyone looking for ghost books for kids 9-12 or middle grade books with a supernatural twist will appreciate the immersive storytelling and integration of South Carolina's unique history in this enchanting tale.
PRAISE
“A richly detailed story that amplifies the importance of connections and community.”—Kirkus Reviews

"A spine-chilling stand-alone for readers who love the works of Eden Royce and Lora Senf." —Booklist

"Over-the-top fantastical ambiance, paired with rich depictions of Charleston’s historical and cultural lore, makes for an endearing, enchanting adventure teeming with quirky characters." —Publishers Weekly

“This engaging story, The Fall of the House of Tatterly by Shanna Miles, features plenty of folklore, supernatural beings and Southern flair to captivate any audience.” —The Register-Herald

“As a school librarian, Shanna Miles knows just what young readers love. As a writer, she brings it to life.”—Greenville News

  -

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

Born and raised in Columbia, South Carolina, Shanna Miles considers herself a dyed-in-the-wool Southern girl. She lives in Georgia with her family. When she’s not working as a high school librarian, she can be found writing. Visit her online at shannamiles.net or on Twitter at @srmilesauthor.

Title Details

Pages 280 pages

Trim 5.5 x 8.25 x 0 Inches

Territories World

Category Middle Grade Fiction

Age Range 8 to 12

Carton Quantity 20

ADDITIONAL BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR
The Rise of Issa Igwe

The Rise of Issa Igwe

VIEW ALL