The Night in Question

A Novel

By Susan Fletcher (Author)

Price$28.99

Format Hardcover, Jacketed

BUY NOW >

X

The Night in Question

A Novel

by Susan Fletcher
OVERVIEW
A lyrical and emotionally engaging novel infused with mystery and wisdom about love, friendship, and the power of forgiveness.

Florrie Butterfield—eighty-seven, one-legged, and of cheerful disposition—believes there can't be any more adventures or surprises in life to experience. Yet one midsummer’s evening, there’s an accident at Babbington Hall—the adult residence where she lives—so shocking and strange that Florrie is suspicious; is this really an accident? Or is she being lied to? Is she, in fact, living alongside a potential murderer? In her efforts to learn the truth, Florrie is forced to look back on her own life, with all its passions and regrets; she must confront her own bloody secret—and, at last, forgive herself. Above all, Florrie learns, through the help of her new friend, Stanhope, that you’re never too old to have the life you’ve always dreamed of. When it comes to love, it’s never too late.

Readers of moving fiction about late-in-life second chances such as Fredrik Backman's A Man Called Ove and Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry will love this un-putdownable book.
PRAISE

“Fletcher (House of Glass) expertly intertwines two mysteries in this eloquent and astute tale set in a British assisted living facility. . . . This gloriously uplifting mystery will stay with readers long after they’ve turned the final page.” —Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

“Fletcher has a gift for creating memorable characters—even the minor characters have distinctive personalities and motivations—and Florrie’s dogged determination to solve the mystery keeps the pages turning. . . . This charming blend of cozy mystery and relationship fiction will appeal to fans of Beth Morrey and Phaedra Patrick.”—Booklist, STARRED Review

“[Fletcher's] prose is extraordinarily lyrical . . . and her themes are profound.”—London Sunday Times

“Fletcher is a gifted storyteller.”—The Independent

“Fletcher unpeels with delicacy and insight the complex layers of the human heart.”—The Guardian

“A wonderfully warm and involving page-turner."—Clare Chambers, bestselling author of Small Pleasures

“A wonderful, life-affirming novel, full of surprises, tender of heart, and infused with a spirit as warm and generous as any I have read. It’s a gripping literary whodunnit and so much more. . . . I adored it.”—Emma Stonex, bestselling author of The Lamplighters

“Every word is a jewel. A richly evocative and moving portrait of an unforgettable heroine who will teach you everything you need to know about life and love and loss. The best book I have read in a long time.”—Veronica Henry, bestselling author of How to Find Love in a Bookshop

“As surprising as it is inspirational. I loved it!”—Katie Fforde, bestselling author of A Country Escape

“A wonderful novel, uplifting, tender, wise, funny, sad, and a page-turner to boot. Florrie is a marvelous creation—warm, complex, and with a huge heart. I will miss her company.”—Marika Cobbold, author of On Hampstead Heath

“How I love this book! A spellbinding mystery, beautifully and richly told, with characters who dive straight into your heart. I couldn’t put it down.”—Hazel Prior, author of Away with the Penguins

“Full of unforgettable characters, a beguiling mystery with gorgeous prose, The Night in Question completely captured my heart. . . . A triumph.”—Jennie Godfrey, author of The List of Suspicious Things

-

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

Susan Fletcher is a British novelist. She was born in Birmingham and studied creative writing at the University of East Anglia. Her first novel, Eve Green, won the 2004 Whitbread First Novel Award, the Authors' Club award, and the Betty Trask Prize; it was also picked for Channel 4's (UK) Richard and Judy Summer Reading list. Subsequent novels have been shortlisted for the John Llewellyn Rhys award, the Writers’ Guild fiction award, and longlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year award. Her novel Witch Light won the Saint-Maur en Poche award 2013 in France. Fletcher is the current Fellow at the University of Worcester as part of the Royal Literary Fund's fellowship scheme.

 

Pub Date: 4/2/2024

ISBN: 9781454952558

Price: $28.99

Format: Hardcover, Jacketed

Pages: 384 pages

Trim: 6 x 9 x 0 Inches

Territories: US Only

Category: Fiction

Publisher: Union Square & Co.

Carton Quantity: 16