The Awakening and Other Stories

By Kate Chopin (Author)

Series Signature Editions


Pub Date 9/3/2024

ISBN 9781454952992

Format Hardcover, Jacketed



The Awakening and Other Stories

by Kate Chopin

Set in New Orleans and the Gulf Coast at the end of the nineteenth century, The Awakening centers on Edna Pontellier, an apparently happy twenty-eight-year-old wife and mother of two. But when a summer romance reignites Edna’s appetite for life, she discovers that her conventional family, friends, and surroundings do not make her happy. Boldly—and to the astonishment of her husband and the consternation of New Orleans society—Edna begins to discover the joys of solitude, creative expression, and erotic freedom. A scandal and a shock to readers when it was first published in 1899, The Awakening remains a daring portrayal of a woman rejecting domesticity in favor of her own happiness and self-expression.

This edition includes some of Chopin’s most studied short stories, including “Desiree’s Baby,” “A Pair of Silk Stockings,” and “The Story of an Hour.”


Kate Chopin (1850–1904) was an American novelist and short-story writer best known for her startling 1899 novel, The Awakening. Considered Chopin’s masterpiece, The Awakening was subject to harsh criticism at the time for its frank approach to sexual themes. It was rediscovered in the 1960s and has since become a standard of American literature, appreciated for its sophistication and artistry.

Title Details

Pages 288 pages

Trim 5.25 x 8 x 0 Inches

Territories World

Category Classics

Carton Quantity 36