Welcome to Fear City

By Sarah Dvojack (Author)

Price$19.99

Pub Date 9/3/2024

ISBN 9781454953906

Format Hardcover, Jacketed

BUY NOW >

X

Welcome to Fear City

by Sarah Dvojack
More Formats and Editions
OVERVIEW
New York City, summer of '77—in a city on the edge and obsessed with a serial killer, Sylvie Stroud is dealing with an entirely different kind of evil when she awakens a dark magic hellbent on consuming her.
 
Seventeen-year-old Sylvie Stroud can see the past of any building just by touching it. Her powers have always been reliable, until one day she sees the memory of a teenage girl’s murder without touching anything at all. There's a lot of violence in New York City, especially in 1977, but this is different. When the vision keeps repeating, Sylvie begins to investigate. But doing so accidentally awakens an old, parasitic magic lurking just beneath the surface of her beleaguered city. Now all it wants is Sylvie, and it will go through everyone Sylvie loves to have her.
 
This page-turning horror novel, complete with 22 black and white graphic novel pages throughout, is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Kendare Blake. 
PRAISE

Welcome to Fear City has every flavor of horror I love: supernatural mystery, violent histories, and creepy spectral dog-things. But it’s also a story about friendship and growing up, enhanced by its period setting, late-70s New York brought to vivid, tactile life. You can almost smell the garbage and hear the echo of CBGB. Dvojack brings the goods. Something to chill your bones on sweltering city nights.”

—Adam Cesare, Bram Stoker Award-Winning author of Influencer and Clown in a Cornfield

-

Read more

ABOUT THE AUTHOR(S)

Sarah Dvojack was born and raised in Washington state, where she was brought up on her parents’ music and developed a passion for all things weird, historical, and Irish dance. She graduated from Seattle’s Cornish College of the Arts with a degree in graphic design and went on to study in the School of Visual Arts' MFA Illustration as Visual Essay program. After a decade in New York City, she now lives with her partner and cats in that bastion of American horror and children’s books, Maine, and works as a book designer. You can visit Sarah online at dvojack.com.

Title Details

Pages 464 pages, 64 b-w illus.

Trim 5.5 x 8.25 x 0 Inches

Territories US/Can

Category Young Adult

Age Range 14 and up

Carton Quantity 20