By James Joyce (Author)

James Joyce’s luminous short story collection of ordinary Dubliners’ lives, featuring “one of the greatest short stories ever written” (T. S. Eliot), now newly repackaged for the Union Square & Co. Signature Classics line. 

James Joyce’s collection of fifteen short stories portrays the lives of Dublin’s middle-class during the turn of the twentieth century. Structured from childhood, adolescence, adulthood, and death, each story shows people paralyzed by the mundaneness of everyday life. At times humorous and others haunting, Joyce explores the loneliness of the human condition, culminating with “The Dead,” called “one of the greatest short stories ever written” (T. S. Eliot), where a man experiences an epiphany that changes him forever.

James Augustine Aloysius Joyce (1882–1941) was an Irish writer of the 20th century, whose prolific works included novels, poems, short stories, plays, and literary criticism. He is known for his contributions to the modernist movement and his use of experimental literary styles, including stream of consciousness. Though he spent most of his adult life abroad, Joyce’s major works are rooted in Dublin, his place of birth, where he explores his complicated relationship with Irish identity and rejection of Irish nationalism through a historical, cultural, and political lens. 

Pub Date: 8/6/2024

ISBN: 9781454954514

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 CAN

Format: Paperback

Pages: 288 pages

Trim: 5.25 x 8 x 0 Inches

Territories: World

Category: Classics

Publisher: Union Square & Co.

Series: Signature Classics