The Collected Oscar Wilde (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

By Oscar Wilde (Author), Angus Fletcher (Introduction and notes), Angus Fletcher (Introduction)


Format Paperback


The Collected Oscar Wilde (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

by Oscar Wilde, Angus Fletcher, Angus Fletcher

The Collected Oscar Wilde, by Oscar Wilde, is part of the Barnes & Noble Classics series, which offers quality editions at affordable prices to the student and the general reader, including new scholarship, thoughtful design, and pages of carefully crafted extras. Here are some of the remarkable features of Barnes & Noble Classics:

    -New introductions commissioned from today's top writers and scholars
    -Biographies of the authors
    -Chronologies of contemporary historical, biographical, and cultural events
    -Footnotes and endnotes
    -Selective discussions of imitations, parodies, poems, books, plays, paintings, operas, statuary, and films inspired by the work
    -Comments by other famous authors
    -Study questions to challenge the reader's viewpoints and expectations
    -Bibliographies for further reading
    -Indices & Glossaries, when appropriate

All editions are beautifully designed and are printed to superior specifications; some include illustrations of historical interest. Barnes & Noble Classics pulls together a constellation of influences—biographical, historical, and literary—to enrich each reader's understanding of these enduring works.
A renowned eccentric, dandy, and man-about-town, Oscar Wilde was foremost a dazzling wit and dramatic genius whose plays, poems, essays, and fiction contain some of the most frequently quoted quips and passages in the English language.
This volume features a wide selection of Wilde’s literary output, including the comic masterpiece The Importance of Being Earnest, an immensely popular play filled with satiric epigrams that mercilessly expose Victorian hypocrisy; The Portrait of Mr. W. H., a story proposing that Shakespeare’s sonnets were inspired by the poet’s love for a young man; The House of Pomegranates, the author’s collection of fairy tales; lectures Wilde delivered, first in the United States, where he exhorted his audiences to love beauty and art, and then in England, where he presented his impressions of America; his two major literary-theoretical works, “The Decay of Lying” and “The Critic as Artist”; and a selection of verse, including his great poem The Ballad of Reading Gaol, in which Wilde famously declared that “each man kills the thing he loves.”
A testament to Wilde’s incredible versatility, this collection displays his legendary wit, brilliant use of language, and penetrating insight into the human condition.


Angus Fletcher is Distinguished Professor Emeritus, City University of New York, and the author of Allegory: The Theory of a Symbolic Mode, Colors of the Mind, and A New Theory for American Poetry, among other books.

Pub Date: 12/1/2007

ISBN: 9781593083106

Price: $15.95 / $20.95 CAN

Format: Paperback

Pages: 672 pages

Trim: 5.75 x 8.43 x 0 Inches

Territories: World

Category: Literature & Fiction / Barnes & Noble Classics

Publisher: Barnes & Noble Classics

Carton Quantity: 24

Series: Barnes & Noble Classics